georgian cow creamer

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
rareTiffanysilver

georgian cow creamer

Post by rareTiffanysilver »

Is anyone able to help me determine whether these georgian cow creamers have fraudulent hallmarks on a newer piece? I have about 15 years of experience with American silver from the 1880s-modern but have very little experience with earlier or English silver so don't know what to look for and don't know how often they are faked. I've bought hundreds of pieces of silver and the only time I ever bought a fake was when I purchased something outside my knowledge base and splurged on what I thought was an 1870s set of russian silver stirrup cups that ended up being modern reproductions despite it being sold by a reputable well known dealer.

rareTiffanysilver

Re: georgian cow creamer

dognose
Site Admin

Post by dognose »

Hi,

Please embed your images.

Trev.
Traintime
contributor

Post by Traintime »

Mooooo-ved this time for your grazing pleasure:

dancula

Post by dancula »

To my non-expert eyes, the marks for London 1817 look ok to me - and the cow looks very pleased with itself.
rareTiffanysilver

dognose wrote: Sun Jul 23, 2023 1:32 am Hi,

Please embed your images.

Trev.
I tried for about 2 hours without any luck. Used several different platforms to host the image but could not get them to show.
rareTiffanysilver

dancula wrote: Sun Jul 23, 2023 2:26 pm To my non-expert eyes, the marks for London 1817 look ok to me - and the cow looks very pleased with itself.
Thanks dancula,
What I found weird was there was no makers mark anywhere on it. Seems rather unusual for it to be missing but I am not an expert on British silver.
Essexboy Found
contributor

Post by Essexboy Found »

Hello, is there anything on the lid of the creamer? Detachable parts ought to have some kind of mark on them. A bit like the marks on various parts of a pocket watch case. The marks shown do appear as 1817 marks.

Fishless
rareTiffanysilver