Maker & date unclear

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
Georg

Maker & date unclear

Post by Georg »

Hello everybody,

Some time ago I bought a tray (see photo below along with marks).

The seller advertised its origin as Central Europe. However, I have done some research and it appears to me that the uppermost mark to the left assignes it to Strassburg (France) and the second half of 18th century. It is backed by the fact that Imlin was a family of the Strassburg silversmiths at that time. What I do not know is when the tray was made (double B under a crown is probably a year letter), and by which member of the Imlin family.
I may speculate on this but I am new in this field so I would like to get an opinion of someone well advanced. Also, there is an intersting coat of arms I have no idea to whom it belonged.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Georg
JayT
contributor

Re: Maker & date unclear

Post by JayT »

Hello Georg
Your research is on the right track. Your plate/tray was made in Strasbourg 1750-1796 as indicated by the silver standard mark of a crowned 13. Strasbourg makers worked to the standard of 917/1000. Strasbourg didn’t use charge or discharge marks.

The crowned BB is exceptional, an innovation mentioned in the Almanach Royal in 1756 announcing a mark that corresponded to the acronym of the Strasbourg Mint, not to be confused with a crowned B date mark for 1777. It isn’t clear for how many years the crowned BB mark was used. We have a single example from after 1759 in the collection of Strasbourg’s Museum of Decorative arts, a sugar sifting spoon made by Johann-Gottfried Stahl, master 1759.

As you know, the maker of the plate was one of the members of the dynasty of Imlin silversmiths: in this case Gottfried (1701-1751), master in 1726, son of Jean Louis the elder (master 1689), brother of Jean Louis the younger (master 1719) and Jean Frédéric (master 1734). Gottfried marked IMLIN in a rectangular reserve.