Family Crest on 1835 London Serving Dish

To identify an engraved crest, post an image here. - PHOTO REQUIRED
neurorocker

Family Crest on 1835 London Serving Dish

Post by neurorocker »

I am a complete novice at crests and could use any input whatsoever. I have high hopes that this one might be identified.

Thanks in advance!

Nate

dognose
Site Admin

Re: Family Crest on 1835 London Serving Dish

Post by dognose »

Hi Nate,

Great item! Not sure if I'm looking into this too deeply, but to me the bird and the bear crests appear to be engraved by a different hand than that of the central block (Red Hand of Ulster? above Order of the Garter?) Perhaps a later addition by a less skilled engraver?

If it is the Red Hand of Ulster, this is usually shown as a right hand, from memory, I believe there is some significance when the left hand is shown.

Trev.
neurorocker

Post by neurorocker »

Thanks, Trev.

The only elements I've managed so far are (maybe):

Maltese cross
Corvus, Raven, or Rook (maybe)
Bear
Bible
A sinister hand
agphile
contributor

Post by agphile »

The red hand of Ulster, sinister, in a shield is the badge for a Baronet of the United Kingdom (not just an Irish baronet). I would hazard a guess that the cross indicates some office in the Order of St John. That is the easy bit. Now all you need to do is identify a 19th century baronet who belonged to the order of St John and was entitled to both the engraved crests!
neurorocker

Post by neurorocker »

Very interesting comments and thank you for making them. The Order of St John appears to have come to Great Britain late in the 1800s, so while I don't think that is a match, I think it's the right idea. Might it be the Order of Malta? I sifted through the list of Barons that fit the time period (there are about 50 potential candidates). Two names stand out as somewhat promising but could be dead ends.