sgian dubh maker's mark question

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
tmgregg

sgian dubh maker's mark question

Post by tmgregg »

This sgian dubh has silver sheath fittings, and I can see a J.R.&S mark, along with what appear to be crude Edinburgh marks. Because I am new to the subject, I'm not sure how to interpret the other marks, or a lack of marks. I did see the silvercollection.it listing for JR&S on spoons by James Rettie & Son, Edinburgh, but the mark is not identical. Their other listing, of J.R&S is "not identified", and the mark is also not quite the same.

I appreciate any thoughts. Confirm it's an Edinburgh assay? Thoughts on whether this is Rettie, or someone else? I don't see anything I'd call a date mark, but is there any other information as to when it was made or stamped?

Thanks,
Tim
silvermakersmarks
co-admin

Re: sgian dubh maker's mark question

Post by silvermakersmarks »

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Although the hallmark looks peculiar I think that it is a genuine Edinburgh mark which has been poorly struck and/or damaged in some way with the mark at the top in an oval punch being, originally, the date letter. I cannot work out what it might have been but this punch shape was in use from 1856 to 1905. From 1856 to 1889 there was also a duty mark which is not present in your picture. So it is likely that it dates from 1890 to 1905. I have previously seen this mark on a couple of items dated 1893 and 1896. Unfortunately our main reference for Edinburgh makers' marks does not show this J.R.&S mark but I also think it is possibly that of J Rettie & Son of Aberdeen (not Edinburgh).

Phil
tmgregg

Re: sgian dubh maker's mark question

Post by tmgregg »