Old Silver spoon.

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
jobstodo

Old Silver spoon.

Post by jobstodo »

Hello,
Hope you are all well,
I purchased this spoon with some scrap Silver and the moment I saw it I fell in love with it,
how did it manage to survive? after having such a hard life?
would anybody have any ideas about it's history, age, maker,
I have been reading Ian Pickford's , Silver flatware , English , Irish and Scottish 1660-1980 and the tips I have picked up seem
to give it a rough date of around 1740 ish but I am very new to this fantastic Silver world and I would be very grateful for any
information on my fantastic spoon.
Kind regards,
Ronnie.
PS, it's not for or ever will be for sale. ( LOL )Image

Sasropakis
contributor

Re: Old Silver spoon.

Post by Sasropakis »

It's a typical 18th century Hanoverian pattern spoon. The hallmarks are pretty worn but there appears to be the lion passant and leopard's head for London. The date letter is only partially visible but I would say it's probably from the 1756-75 cycle and definitely pre-1784 when the duty mark (soveraign's head) was introduced. You could try to find a match by comparing the date letter chart and the spoon side by side. The maker's mark is the fourth one but it's pretty much unrecognizable. Although the spoon has some damage I'm glad to hear that it's going to be saved from scrapping.
jobstodo

Post by jobstodo »

Hello Sasropakis,

Many thanks for your expert opinion,
It makes you wonder how the spoon bowl broke in half, who broke it and what was there response?
to me it's a great find and a keeper.
Kind regards,
Ronnie.
Aguest
contributor

Post by Aguest »

If we examine the shape of the cartouche of the hallmark where the shaft meets the bowl, that seems like the date letter hallmark. ::::