Teapot - cannot identify all the marks

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
stickyb

Teapot - cannot identify all the marks

Post by stickyb »

I have teapot, i can make out the lion mark and Victoria's head, but not the rest.

Can you help me please?

X

X
piette
contributor

Re: Teapot - cannot identify all the marks

Post by piette »

Hi,
This is a nice teapot you have here, in a nice design.
The date letter on this item is for 1847.
I will check my books later when I have access to them for the maker, although someone else will probably beat me to it in the mean time! It is most likely William Chawner or William Cooper but perhaps not...
Regards,
Piette
stickyb

Post by stickyb »

Thank you fpr the information piette.

As i am a complete novice in this area, coul you tell me what the marks are at 3 o'clock and 9 o'clock?

Ar 12 I see the lion and at 6 i see Victoria

Thanks
piette
contributor

Post by piette »

Hi,
The top mark is ofcourse the left facing lion with paw raised which indicates solid sterling silver.
The mark on the right is the date letter "m" which indicates the year 1847.
The bottom mark is the queen victoria monarchs mark which indicates the piece dates from 1837-1890.
The left mark is the leopards head (without a crown!) which indicates that the item was made in London after 1822. Note - if the leopards head was crowned then this indicates it was made in London before 1822.

The mark in the middle "WC" is the makers mark.

Regards,
Piette
silverport
contributor

Post by silverport »

WC or W-C or ...

Hello »stickyb«

Welcome to the Forum.

Indeed for every »New be« is the identification of markings a difficulty — but by time and while, if you handle many items, look on details, read literature, and of course some internet-sites too, think over the seen and read information, then you would become a “feeling” of it self.

In yours actual case there is much more information hidden as only the visible and official London Assay marks.