17th century spoon markings.

Denmark, Norway, Sweden, and Finland
PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
paulh
contributor

17th century spoon markings.

Post by paulh »

I have a number of 17th century Norwegian spoons which do not have a punched maker’s mark. They do however have distinctive scratched marks. They are all in a similar place on the spoons and seem to be some kind of identifying device. They are too regular to be marks of usage. They are difficult to photograph, so I have attached an enhanced image and a drawing of one example. Can anyone explain these marks?

Aguest
contributor

Re: 17th century spoon markings.

Post by Aguest »

If all 4 spoons share the same scratched marks, do you think it's possible that that is actually a 2-letter monogram and the 2 letters are "Runes" or letters in the "Runic Alphabet" of which there were a few variations depending on specific locations in Scandinavia? ::: I am not an expert on runes, and I have never seen a spoon with a monogram using the Runic Alphabet, but I really don't know of what other conclusion to reach ::::

Possibly an expert on runes could tell you more about which runic alphabet is being used and from which region (Norway or Sweden or Other Region). :::
paulh
contributor

Post by paulh »

Thanks for your ideas. I did think about runes. Some of the other marks are more “runic” if that makes sense. That will be my next path to follow. I have seen these straight line devices on other Scandinavian and Baltic silver, but never been able to trace them.
Sasropakis
contributor

Post by Sasropakis »

They might be house marks (bomärke in Swedish) which were used in Scandinavia to mark ownership of an item: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/House_mark