1846 Stand w hanging dish over heat source(?)

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
dezeman

1846 Stand w hanging dish over heat source(?)

Post by dezeman »

Image Image

This item is not mine, I have permission of the owner to share these pictures.

I am a complete noob on silver hallmarks but I did some digging around on the internet and here is what I have come up with so far. I posted this elsewhere for the person who owns the item:
The 'assayer's mark' has the initials of the assay master, with the year below. The assay master was Hermann Georg Clemens, initials ‘Г.К’. (Cyrillic script). The 'silver standard mark' is in this case the number '84', for a fineness of 84 zolotniki (87.5% pure silver).

The makers mark appears to be from 'Georg Wilhelm Wulff' and the item was made in Tallinn (Estonia now, Russia at the time) in 1846. The town mark is the Tallinn coat of arms, 3 lions in a shield.

The sources that I used:
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=35272&p=91992&hilit=GW#p91992

https://www.925-1000.com/Frussia.html

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Co ... allinn.svg

https://register.muinas.ee/public.php?m ... w&id=28302

(admin edit - see Posting Requirements )
I am looking for some validation on what I pieced together as I never heard of silver hallmarks until 2 days ago.

I am looking for information on the extra hallmark, the one on the far right in picture 3. Why is it there? What does it say?

I am also trying to find out: what is this thing? What is it used for, and how? Some suggested it was possibly health or medical related because of the Rod Of Asclepius. Some say 'potpourri heather'. But I am looking for something conclusive.

I hope you can help me out.
Aguest
contributor

Re: 1846 Stand w hanging dish over heat source(?)

Post by Aguest »

:::: The mark on the far right might be the mark of a local assay master. :::: Sazikov2000 writes on another obsolete forum: