triangular maker mark?

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
darwinbot

triangular maker mark?

Post by darwinbot »

Hi, newbie here :)
I came accross a nice sigarette case, and have been researching the marks a bit, but I can't seem to find any mention of Russian makers' marks inscribed in a triangle as this one is...
Could anyone give me a bit more insight as to whether this might be a fake?

Mart
contributor

Re: triangular maker mark?

Post by Mart »

Hello!
Don't worry, this is the brand of a Moscow master (1908-1917, possibly before 1927). It is often found on cigarette cases.
darwinbot

Post by darwinbot »

AG2012
contributor

Post by AG2012 »

Hi,
This is documented maker in Moscow after 1908.Reference number 2714 in Postnikova-Loseva book.
Russian Art Nouveau is known as Ар-нувo, Моде́рн(elements seen on your cigarette case).
Things like this one are extremely difficult to fake and therefore, not profitable.
All said, it is nice,genuine,Russian Art Nouveau after 1908.But badly corroded (not patina) and I suggest vigorous cleaning otherwise it will penetrate even deeper into the silver.
Regards
Mart
contributor

Post by Mart »

AG2012 wrote:Hi,
Reference number 2714 in Postnikova-Loseva book.
I'm not sure what exactly "НБ" is there.
AG2012
contributor

Post by AG2012 »

This is the mark:

(Unknown maker, after 1908. Ladies engraved silver handbag in Moscow State Historical Museum).
Mart
contributor

Post by Mart »

AG2012 wrote:This is the mark.
This is just a fuzzy drawing. I think that I have seen the brands of this master no less than PL. I would like to see a real brand where the first letter is clearly "Н", and, for example, not "И".
AG2012
contributor

Post by AG2012 »

In the image from PL letter "И" is impossible because oblique line does not run to the top of right vertical line.
Besides, it would be too much coincidence to contemplate another maker with everything matching 100%.
In a word, that is the maker of the discussed cigarette case.
Mart