Imperial Court Serving Spoon?

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
cookj392

Imperial Court Serving Spoon?

Post by cookj392 »

http://s1224.photobucket.com/albums/ee378/cookj392/

My wife inherited some russian silver pieces from her aunt who we believe married a white russian sea captain. I believe some of the marks indicate the imperial court silversmiths in Mosocw. The spoon is 21.5 cm long - too big for a soup spoon I think - maybe a serving spoon or for basting??
Can anyone tell me more? Thanks

(admin edit - remember to use the 'Preview' button)
Zolotnik

Re: Imperial Court Serving Spoon?

Post by Zolotnik »

Hi -
your photos are too small and unsharp to see what you have. Please be so kind and try some detailphoto of the marks - than we can tell you what you have.

Regards
Zolotnik
cookj392

Post by cookj392 »

Ok thank you. I am new to this so please forgive me if I get it wrong sometimes
cookj392

Post by cookj392 »

http://i1224.photobucket.com/albums/ee3 ... 400128.jpg

(admin photo edit - images too large - link only - see Posting Requirements )
Juke
contributor

Post by Juke »

Hi!

At first the marks seem well done but with more detailed research there are some inconsistencies and I am afraid they are not authentic by the firm Ovtshinnikov.

Zolotnik, you need just to click on the first picture to enlarge it.

Regards,
Juke
Juke
contributor

Post by Juke »

Hi!

Sorry I have to correct, there is no inconsistency, I didn't check the litterature well enough, so the mark is authentic and made by the well known firm Ovtshinnikov.

Regads,
Juke
Zolotnik

Post by Zolotnik »

Hi -
Pavel Ovtschinnikov is one of the major Russian artists and therefore very often faked! Whenever one see his mark, a close inspection is important. Since the fakers learned how to produce "real" marks with a sense, it is double difficult to distinguish good from bad.