Old spoon from Gdańsk

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
Georg

Old spoon from Gdańsk

Post by Georg »

Dear All,

Some time ago I got an old spoon (see photo). There is a date on it (1703) but after some research I found that probably it is older.
As per hallmarks I suspect that it originates from Gdańsk (now Poland/German Danzig) from the second half of 17th century.
I was even able to find a possible maker (a Christian Schubert master in 1644) based on CS initials.
However, as I am not very experienced I would like to get an independent confirmation.
If I am right is it possible to narrow the manufacturing period?
Thank you in advance for any help.

Regards,

Georg

AG2012
contributor

Re: Old spoon from Gdańsk

Post by AG2012 »

Hi,
Agreed; Christian Schubert, Meister 1644.
Regards
Georg

Post by Georg »

Hi,

Thank you very much for your fast reply, and the confirmation.
Is it known when he died?

Kind regards, and thank you once more,

Georg
AG2012
contributor

Post by AG2012 »

Rosenberg claims (No 1556) he died after 1651.
nach (cross) 1651.
Regards
Sasropakis
contributor

Post by Sasropakis »

The style of the spoon doesn't look like mid-17th century to me. I've only seen this type of spoons dating from the early 18th century onwards. Late 17th century spoons usually had a rattail whereas the type in question was made of a single piece. In England it's usually called the Hanoverian pattern and similar spoons were also made in Northern Europe like Sweden and Finland. My knowledge of silver from Gdansk/Danzig is pretty limited so I can't judge the attribution of the hallmark but based on the style I wouldn't say it's from mid-17th century unless there have been some major alterations.
Georg

Post by Georg »

Hi,

Thank you very much for both posts.
As I am no expert on spoon design I can only say something on hallmarks and what is written there.
There is the date 1703, which appears to be a later addition to the original engraving.
I doubt it is fake.