Gorham Fork

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
redshirt66

Gorham Fork

Post by redshirt66 »

I found this fork when buying some sterling. The seller included it for free because it didn't have any sterling marks. But as far as I can tell it is sterling. It passed the magnet test, the ping test, and the acid test (as far as I can tell). Also it is chipped at the end of one of the times and you can see it is not plated. Does anybody recognize these marks or could point me towards an era? Do silver utensils from this era hold a premium or a discount against those from the sterling era? Thank you guys for helping, this is my first time on the forum.
-Tobin
redshirt66

Re: Gorham Fork

Post by redshirt66 »

redshirt66 wrote:I found this fork when buying some sterling. The seller included it for free because it didn't have any sterling marks. But as far as I can tell it is sterling. It passed the magnet test, the ping test, and the acid test (as far as I can tell). Also it is chipped at the end of one of the times and you can see it is not plated. Does anybody recognize these marks or could point me towards an era? Do silver utensils from this era hold a premium or a discount against those from the sterling era? Thank you guys for helping, this is my first time on the forum.
-Tobin

dragonflywink
co-admin

Post by dragonflywink »

Hi - welcome to the forums. Nice job on your first post...

Your fork is silverplate, as indicated by the anchor alone trademark - below is an 1869 Gorham advertisement:

~Cheryl
redshirt66

Post by redshirt66 »