Mystery marks ... sterling or plate???

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
joannwagner63

Mystery marks ... sterling or plate???

Post by joannwagner63 »

I am hoping someone can help to identify this flatware. Thank you.
AG2012
contributor

Re: Mystery marks ... sterling or plate???

Post by AG2012 »

Hi,
Fairfield plate, 1915 Alpha pattern.
Regards
AG2012
contributor

Post by AG2012 »

For William Rogers Mfg. Co take a look here:
http://925-1000.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=22286
joannwagner63

Post by joannwagner63 »

Thank you for the prompt responses... But I am very new to collectin. So, if I may ask... The original post in that thread says the pieces they had were marked as "plate". So, my question is... does it have to say plate to be plate or is that specified by a part of the hallmark? These do not have "plate" marked on them. Just the three hallmark symbols and the word fairfield. I appreciate your time and assistance.
AG2012
contributor

Post by AG2012 »

Hello again,
``Plate`` does not necessarily appear in marks.
Lack of ``sterling`` (or particular set of marks) means it`s not solid silver but plate.
Marks are at the top of this page, American, World, British etc.
Regards
joannwagner63

Post by joannwagner63 »

Thank you very much for the explanation. As I'm sure you could tell, I am just starting to collect and really know nothing about it beyond, silver is beautiful and "sterling is good". :) My confusion was created because I read an article online that said if there was, "only 3 hallmarks and doesn't have any of the listed marks, it is sterling". I guess I need to get a book or two. Thank you again.
Essexboy Fisher
contributor

Post by Essexboy Fisher »