Pavlovskaia 6th Artel Fish Knife

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
marina_sherid

Pavlovskaia 6th Artel Fish Knife

Post by marina_sherid »

Hello,

I'm very new to identifying silver and have spent the last week or so reading through the information on Russian artels. I have identified three pieces that I own as Russian 84 silver. All are marked 84. This post if focusing on what I believe is a fish knife. I translated the cyrillic and thinks it says Pavlovskaia Artel 6. There is also an 84 with a woman facing left. Based on this information, I'm dating this piece to between 1896 and 1908? Any confirmation or correction on what I believe I have discovered about this knife would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Marina
Zolotnik

Re: Pavlovskaia 6th Artel Fish Knife

Post by Zolotnik »

Hi marina -

welcome to the forum. Your knife looks more like a cheese knife ...If the marks are as you discribe than the time frame is correct.
The knife is not made by a Artel 6 (6th Artel), only the steel blade was made by the Pavlovskaja Artel, a cooperation (Artel) which produced steel.
In cyrillic the word "Artel" is written "АРТЕЛЪ", the last letter Ъ means the previous letter Л is spoken softly. No Number and no Artel. Sorry...
If the handle is in silver there must be a mark of the maker - please have a look - after cleaning :-)...

Regards
Zolotnik
marina_sherid

Post by marina_sherid »

Thank you! That was very interesting and useful information. It also might help explain why a second knife I have has a blade that says cast-steel sheffield, but a russian handle. I will probably post photos of all three pieces at some point. You also answered another question that I had; I was worried about cleaning the silver, but it sounds like we should go ahead and give it a good polish. :-)
Qrt.S
contributor

Post by Qrt.S »