Leading St. Louis Jewelry House to Establish a New York Branch
Goodman King, president of the Mermod, Jaccard & King Jewelry Co., St. Louis, Mo., was in New York, last week, where he completed arrangements for the establishment of a New York branch for his house. Mr. King has just closed the lease— for a term of five years—of the premises at 400 Fifth Ave., where he will establish a distinctly up-to-date retail establishment, which will carry practically the same lines as are handled by the house in St. Louis.
The premises, which include several floors, will be fitted up on the Parisian plan. No counters will be used, but the goods will be displayed to customers on tables in special parlors devoted to particular lines. On the parlor floor of the house will be a series of rooms, the first one devoted
to cabinets and silverware, the next to gems and jewelry, the third to the art department, the fourth to silver hollow ware, and the last to the mail order department. On the upper floors will be the stationery and shipping departments, and also the diamond mounting and repairing factory of the concern.
The company’s lease dates from March 1, but arrangements have now been made to begin the renovation and changing of the premises to meet the requirements of the business, and it is hoped that the concern will be established in its new quarters some time between April 1 and April 15.
The Mermod, Jaccard & King Jewelry Co. is one of the largest and oldest houses in the trade, the present concern practically being the successors of three great firms — Mermod & Jaccard, the Eugene Jaccard Jewelry Co. and the Merrick, Walsh, Phelps Co., all of St. Louis.
Source: The Jewelers' Circular - 22nd February 1905