Silver Coffee Pot?

PHOTOS REQUIRED - marks + item
gb2009

Silver Coffee Pot?

Post by gb2009 »

Hi. So I am new to everything silver. My wife's great aunt passed away and left her this pot. It has sat in the cupboard for five years. I am trying to find out exactly what it is? I have searched the internet to no avail other than to find out it is likely a coffee pot. The only clues I have is in the bottom it is inscribed Charles Harrod New Orleans 1832. The internet mentions that his son was a famous engineer in New Orleans but there is no other mention of Charles. There are also three hallmarks placed into the bottom of the pot but I have been unable to ID them after looking through several websites and books from the library- the first is of a bust of a man, the second is H&G, and the third looks like an eagle?
I apologize if I am in the wrong forum as I do not know if this is American or even silver. However, I know that all of the other pieces she gave away to family members are sterling.....here are some pics. Any information you can give me would be a huge help!

silverly

Re: Silver Coffee Pot?

Post by silverly »

Welcome to the forum. I don't know it for a fact, but it would be very easy to take the mark on this piece to belong to Hyde & Goodrich. Here's a link to a thread that discusses them: http://925-1000.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... ich#p73875

There was a very prosperous merchant in New Orleans by the name of Charles Harrod that might also be associated with the inscription. This Charles Harrod had a daughter who married in 1832 if that piece of information has any bearing.
gb2009

Post by gb2009 »

Awesome! Thank you Silverly. I'll look into the Hyde and Goodrich but it sounds very promising.....how about the hallmarks then- would they be American- I was thinking that the bust was some kind of duty mark and was off looking at English hallmarks....but now it seems that the bust may mean something different.....
silverly

Post by silverly »