Re: Spain?

Post by Wolfend »

Thanks!
when was it made?
legrandmogol
contributor

Post by legrandmogol »

It definitely looks like Madrid but if it is Madrid it is missing a mark. It should also have the city shield/crest. Also, in my two references, none of the other marks are listed. If it is Madrid it would date from 1831, thus the numbers under the castle. I have limited hands-on experience with Spanish silver so I don't know how crucial it was to have all the marks present and neither of the books has comprehensive makers mark listings, mostly just city and assay marks.
Wolfend

Post by Wolfend »

Thank you very much for your help:)
Funkel
contributor

Post by Funkel »

Good morning Wolfend, interesting piece, it's about a snuffer, right? I do not see the whole piece.
It is indeed a Spanish piece and its capital, Madrid year 1731

Dear legrandmogol
Until 1766 in Madrid the pieces were marked with the punches of the silversmith, assayer and the city brand. Under decree of King Carlos III the personal marks of the assayers disappear and are replaced by those of the city (bear and madroño) and by that of the court (castle).

Being a piece prior to 1731, the marks correspond to the silversmith Miguel Colmenares and the assayer Domingo Fernández Castelao.

Miguel Colmenares:
In 1725 he was appointed Platero de Oro de Cámara of the Royal House.
In 1728 it is named Help of the Furriera
He must have died between 1742 and 1746

Domingo Fernández Castelao:
Marker and contrast of Court of Madrid, which acted as such between 1731 and 1738, used as court mark the castle on the chronological 31, which remains unchanged throughout its contrastia. Your personal brand presents in two lines the full name, superimposing some letters on others: CAS / TELAO.

Wolfend, can I ask you a favor? I am very interested in a better photo taken of the Colmenares brand, that does not look so crooked, can it be? and if it is not too much to ask for another photo of the piece.